The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited takes no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



China Mengniu Dairy Company Limited

(Incorporated in the Cayman Islands with limited liability)

(Stock Code: 2319)

CHANGE OF BOOK CLOSE DATE

The register of members of the Company will be closed from Wednesday, 22 June 2005 to Tuesday, 28 June 2005, both dates inclusive, for the purpose of registering entitlements to the Final Dividend. The Final Dividend payable date will remain unchanged as 8 July 2005.

Reference is made to the announcement by the Company dated 6 April 2005 in respect of the results of the Company for the year ended 31 December 2004 (the "Announcement") and the declaration of final dividend distribution in respect of such period (the "Final Dividend").

The Company wishes to inform its shareholders that due to the change of date in holding its annual general meeting, the register of members of the Company will now be closed from Wednesday, 22 June 2005 to Tuesday, 28 June 2005, both dates inclusive instead of from Wednesday, 25 May 2005 to Monday, 30 May 2005 as disclosed in the Announcement. The Final Dividend payable date will remain unchanged as 8 July 2005. Notice of annual general meeting will be despatched to its shareholders in due course. In order to qualify for the Final Dividend, all transfers, accompanied by the relevant share certificates, must be lodged with the Company's share registrar, Computershare Hong Kong Investor Services Limited, at Shops 1712–16, 17th Floor, Hopewell Centre, 183 Queen's Road East, Hong Kong for registration no later than 4:00 p.m. on Tuesday, 21 June 2005.

By order of the Board Lo Ka Wai, Claudia Company Secretary

Hong Kong, 16 May 2005

As at the date of this announcement, the Executive Directors are Mr Niu Gensheng, Ms Lu Jun, Mr Sun Yubin and Mr Yang Wenjun. The Non-executive Directors are Mr Jiao Shuge (alias Jiao Zhen), Mr Liu Haifeng, David and Ms Jin Yujuan, Lily. The Independent non-executive Directors are Mr Wang Huaibao, Mr Zhang Julin and Mr Li Jianxin.

Please also refer to the published version of this announcement in the (The Standard)