Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



ASM PACIFIC TECHNOLOGY LIMITED

(Incorporated in the Cayman Islands with limited liability)
(Stock Code: 0522)

ANNOUNCEMENT

Setting Up of Advanced Laser Technology Centre

The Group is pleased to announce that it is setting up an Advanced Laser Technology Centre ("the Centre") in the Netherlands to develop technology and machines to serve the laser sawing market. It has done so through the signing of an asset purchase agreement on 12 February 2014 to purchase, amongst other things, the intellectual property rights and know-how of Advanced Laser Separation International B.V. ("ALSI"), a Dutch technology company specializing in multi-beam laser-cutting and low-K wafer grooving. ALSI is an independent third party.

The setting up of the new Centre marks the Group's entry into the laser saw business. Multibeam laser cutting technology has various applications in many new fields. These include the grooving of low-K wafers and the sawing of thin wafers and silicon-based LED wafers. The Group believes that access to the said technology will accelerate its know-how in laser saw equipment, and will enable the Group to further enhance its product portfolio for advanced packaging in the near future.

As the value of the purchase is well below 5% with respect to the applicable percentage ratios, the Group is exempted from the reporting, announcement and shareholder's approval requirements under Chapter 14 of the Listing Rules.

On behalf of the Board **Lee Wai Kwong** Director

Hong Kong, 14 February 2014

As at the date of this announcement, the Board comprises Mr. Arthur H. del Prado (Chairman), Mr. Lee Wai Kwong, Mr. James Chow Chuen and Mr. Robin Gerard Ng Cher Tat as Executive Directors, Mr. Charles Dean del Prado and Mr. Petrus Antonius Maria van Bommel as Non-executive Directors, and Miss Orasa Livasiri, Mr. John Lok Kam Chong, Mr. Wong Hon Yee and Mr. Eric Tang Koon Hung as Independent Non-executive Directors.