Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



ASM PACIFIC TECHNOLOGY LIMITED

(Incorporated in the Cayman Islands with limited liability)

(Stock Code: 0522)

APPOINTMENT OF INDEPENDENT NON-EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

The Board of Directors (the "Board") of ASM Pacific Technology Limited (the "Company") is pleased to announce the appointment of Mr. Wong Hon Yee ("Mr. Wong") as an Independent Non-Executive Director of the Company and a member of the Nomination Committee of the Board effective from 27 December 2012.

Mr. Wong, aged 65, is a chartered engineer and a fellow of the Hong Kong Institution of Engineers. Presently he is the Associate Vice President (Knowledge Transfer) at the City University of Hong Kong ("CityU"). He received his Bachelor of Science in Electrical Engineering from the University of Hong Kong in 1969 and Master of Science in Electrical Engineering and Computer Science (EECS) from the University of California, Berkeley in 1971.

Mr. Wong has been involved in high-tech product design and engineering management in industry for 25 years, over 20 of which were spent at Ampex Ferrotec Ltd., a subsidiary of Ampex Corporation in the USA. He joined City University of Hong Kong in 1994 as Head/Director of the Industrial and Business Development Office (later restructured as the Knowledge Transfer Office or KTO today). Between 1994 to 2002, he spearheaded the incubation of technology start-up companies at CityU and the provision of professional consultancy services to the public. From 2002 onwards, Mr. Wong devoted his full time and efforts in patent management, technology licensing and knowledge transfer. He has been serving as CEO and/or Director in many companies founded by CityU. Mr. Wong has served on many industrial and educational panels and committees, including the Technology Committee and the University Grants Committee. He is currently a member of the Industry and Technology Committee of the Hong Kong General Chamber of Commerce and a member of the Innovation and Technology Advisory Committee of the Hong Kong Trade Development Council.

Save as disclosed herein, Mr. Wong does not and did not hold any other directorships in other listed public companies, the securities of which are listed in Hong Kong or overseas, in the past three years, nor does he have any relationship with any directors, senior management or substantial shareholders or controlling Shareholders of the Company for the purpose of the Listing Rules.

As at the date of this announcement, Mr. Wong does not have, and is not deemed to have, any interest in the shares of the Company or its associated companies within the meaning of Part XV of the Securities and Futures Ordinance.

By a letter of appointment dated 27 December 2012 with the Company, Mr. Wong has been appointed as an Independent Non-executive Director for a term of not more than three years. Mr. Wong is subject to retirement and re-election at the next following annual general meeting (AGM) of the Company following his appointment in accordance with the articles of association of the Company. The emoluments of Mr. Wong are determined by the Board with regard to his duties and responsibilities. Mr. Wong will receive a fee of HK\$300,000 per annum.

Save as disclosed above, there is no further information to be disclosed pursuant to the requirements of Rule 13.51(2) of the Listing Rules, nor there is any other matter concerning Mr. Wong that needs to be bought to the attention of the shareholders of the Company in relation to his appointment.

The Board would like to take this opportunity to welcome Mr. Wong to the Board.

On behalf of the Board Lee Wai Kwong Director

Hong Kong, 27 December 2012

As at the date of this announcement, the Board comprises Mr. Arthur H. del Prado (Chairman), Mr. Peter Lo Tsan Yin (Vice Chairman), Mr. Lee Wai Kwong, Mr. James Chow Chuen and Mr. Robin Gerard Ng Cher Tat as Executive Directors, Mr. Charles Dean del Prado and Mr. Petrus Antonius Maria van Bommel as Non-executive Directors, and Miss Orasa Livasiri, Mr. Robert Lee Shiu Hung, Mr. John Lok Kam Chong and Mr. Wong Hon Yee as Independent Non-executive Directors.